2015 Aungshuk Ghosh e-Learning Prize – submit your nominations by 23rd February

The Aungshuk Ghosh prize is open to all Bristol medical students that have developed innovative technology-enhanced material during their time as an undergraduate. The aim of the prize is to reward and recognise the innovative use of technology or e-learning, which has made a valuable contribution to medical education. This prize is awarded by the Faculty to a medical student on the Bristol MB ChB programme.

How to nominate

1. jaggermilnersmith_picCompleted nomination forms must be emailed to Dominic Alder, e-Learning Developer (dominic.alder@bristol.ac.uk) by 12noon on Monday 23rd February 2015. Staff/students are welcome to discuss their projects or nominations with Dominic before the deadline.
Students may nominate themselves, or staff and students can nominate a student. This is a confidential process; the names of nominees will be known to the panel only. Nominations must be accompanied by a demonstration of the work/innovation as, and if, appropriate.
2. Selected nominees will be invited to present their work to a panel. This session will take place at 10am on Monday 2nd March 2015 in the new Life Sciences building. The selection panel will be a mixture of MB ChB educators/teachers and e-Learning staff. The prize and runner up certificates will be presented at the Student Excellence in Medicine event, 2.30pm, Friday 20th March.


catling_picExamples of using technology in innovative ways include:

  • Using short films, video, audio and animations in creative ways
  • Development of apps or other material for mobile learning
  • Manikins to test clinical skills
  • Innovative online learning packages, such as tutorials, video, audio and animations
  • Developing case studies to work with human patient simulators
  • Innovative use of social media of medical education
  • Evaluating the role of a particular technology that leads to changes within the curriculum
  • Innovations that support peer-to-peer working

Submissions must demonstrate an element of innovation and/or impact on medical education – this is just as important as the quality of the product. The material does not have to be an assessed piece of work – some of our applications come from students working on activities in their own time. Students may submit work based on Student Selected Component (SSC) work – however, prize-winning entries will be of a level well above that of a standard pass. Submitted work should be innovative – for instance, typical online tutorial submissions are unlikely to be shortlisted.

Please contact Dominic Alder with any queries.

Past winners

2006 – Jocelyn Cherry
2007 – Will Duffin
2008 – Helen Taylor
2009 – Alastair Buick / Owen Lewis and Haj Kamali
2010 – Francesco Egro
2011 – Christopher Smith / Olivia Jagger and Camilla Milner-Smith
2012 – Alona Courtney / Tim Stubbs
2013 – Finn Catling
2014 – Chad Pardoe / Niels Leadholm and Richard Purcell