2016 Aungshuk Ghosh e-Learning Prize – submit your nominations by 10th February

By | January 5, 2016

The Aungshuk Ghosh prize is open to all Bristol medical students that have developed innovative technology-enhanced material during their time as an undergraduate. The aim of the prize is to reward and recognise the innovative use of technology or e-learning, which has made a valuable contribution to medical education. This prize is awarded by the Faculty to a medical student on the Bristol MB ChB programme.

How to nominate

jaggermilnersmith_pic1. Completed nomination forms must be emailed to Dominic Alder, e-Learning Developer (dominic.alder@bristol.ac.uk) by 12noon on Wednesday 10th February 2016. Staff/students are welcome to discuss their projects or nominations with Dominic before the deadline.
Students may nominate themselves, or staff and students can nominate a student. This is a confidential process; the names of nominees will be known to the panel only. Nominations must be accompanied by a demonstration of the work/innovation.
2. Selected nominees will be invited to present their work to a panel. This session will take place as part of the Student Excellence in Medicine event that will take place in the Great Hall on the afternoon of Friday 26th February 2016. The selection panel will be a mixture of MB ChB educators/teachers and e-Learning staff. The prize and runner up certificates will be presented at the end of the event.


catling_picExamples of using technology in innovative ways include:

  • Using short films, video, audio and animations in creative ways
  • Development of apps or other material for mobile learning
  • Manikins to test clinical skills
  • Innovative online learning packages, such as tutorials, video, audio and animations
  • Developing case studies to work with human patient simulators
  • Innovative use of social media of medical education
  • Evaluating the role of a particular technology that leads to changes within the curriculum
  • Innovations that support peer-to-peer working

Submissions must demonstrate an element of innovation and/or impact on medical education – this is just as important as the quality of the product. The material does not have to be an assessed piece of work – some of our applications come from students working on activities in their own time. Students may submit work based on Student Selected Component (SSC) work – however, prize-winning entries will be of a level well above that of a standard pass. Submitted work should be innovative – for instance, typical online tutorial submissions are unlikely to be shortlisted.

Please contact Dominic Alder with any queries.

Past winners


2015 – Simi Ninan
2014 – Chad Pardoe / Niels Leadholm and Richard Purcell
2013 – Finn Catling
2012 – Alona Courtney / Tim Stubbs
2011 – Christopher Smith / Olivia Jagger and Camilla Milner-Smith
2010 – Francesco Egro
2009 – Alastair Buick / Owen Lewis and Haj Kamali
2008 – Helen Taylor
2007 – Will Duffin
2006 – Jocelyn Cherry

Leave a Reply